Sincere honest questions, turn into praise.

I have a question that I’m beginning to think cannot be answered. Yet there is an answer. And I’m at peace and rest with this mystery. Lets say you have no food on the table, no gas money, no health insurance, broke broke broke, sick sick sick etc etc. Are we guaranteed God will provide? What does scripture say? Yes we have glorious verses of showing God’s kindness to various troubled people in history. But we also see equally glorious verses of scripture where physical needs were not met. There was a deeper truth to be found.

Yes we all have testimonies of God’s faithfulness. Yes we have seen God provide but in all reality is that going to happen every time. My problems don’t even compare to others around the world. And I’m speaking of other saints around the world. I know of missionaries who are starving in other countries. Being put in prisons for a life time, beaten, tormented etc. Families being killed in front of fathers or mothers. Families being separated here on earth forever till heaven.

I look at my former Pastors example. And the way he died. I tremble and yet rest in the fact that we are not exempt from sudden calamities.  What makes me think if i have a brother or sister in the Lord who is prison right now being persecuted for their faith. Or a family of 6 + living on a bag of rice for the next month. What makes me think That I’m promised to meet the bills this month etc etc etc.

I’m also beginning to wonder about all those scriptures that speak of asking and praying. Christ pretty much commands us to ask and pray. He ask us to believe. Because we know he will not turn us away. Luke 11 is I think the most incredible prayer chapter ever. The our father, the midnight beggar parable, the father who will give an egg if you ask, not a scorpion for an egg request.

“And he said to them, “Which of you who has a friend will go to him at midnight and say to him, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves, for a friend of mine has arrived on a journey, and I have nothing to set before him’; and he will answer from within, ‘Do not bother me; the door is now shut, and my children are with me in bed. I cannot get up and give you anything’? I tell you, though he will not get up and give him anything because he is his friend, yet because of his impudence he will rise and give him whatever he needs. And I tell you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. Luke 11:5-9

As much as I believe this parable is an example of us Christians to be  persistent and diligent in prayer especially in dark times. I also like Carter Conlons twist on this parable. Christ knocking on our doors at midnight asking for a withdrawal of bread in these dark times. Are we available for Christ in this midnight hour. He might be asking us some serious stuff.

I would like to add to that twist. I can’t help but think of us the body of Christ. We are a part of Christ. He is so humble to actually refer to himself as, us. Perhaps it us knocking on the doors of fellow saints in the midnight hour asking for bread. My scripture for that would be.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers,you did it to me.’ Matthew 25:34-40

Christ is speaking of His brothers, the body of Christ. I wonder if God might be trying to show me a few things here.

  1. to be very aware of the needs of my fellow brothers and sisters in christ.
  2. 2. be available in prayer at the dark hour, to be available for my brothers and sisters in the darkest hour and available for Christ my brother at the darkest hour.
  3. . be willing to humble myself and not be afraid to go to my fellow body of Christ in the dark hour and ask them for bread.

I asked the Lord for a need and I really believe I heard his voice say, did you ask my brothers, did you ask my church. I have made them available for this.

What a community we would be. What an example we would be if we followed that circular system above. Then the world would know that we are truly his disciples for the love we have towards each other.

“But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the exceeding greatness of the power may be of God, and not from ourselves;  we are pressed on every side, yet not straitened; perplexed, yet not unto despair;  pursued, yet not forsaken; smitten down, yet not destroyed;  always bearing about in the body the dying of Jesus, that the life also of Jesus may be manifested in our body. For we which live are alway delivered unto death for Jesus’ sake, that the life also of Jesus may be manifested in our mortal flesh.  So then death worketh in us, but life in you. 2 Corinthians 4:7-12

By His grace

Patrick

p.s I thought I was done with this thought for the day, until i just finished reading David Wilkerson’s devotional for this day. Here is a quote from the devotional God’s children are tattooed into the palm of His hand BY David Wilkerson.  “Dearly beloved, I want to assure you: You may go through trials and sufferings. You may be far from what you wish to be in the Lord. But you can know one thing more than anything else: You are a delight to him!”

Then as I was about to close my web browser, my eyes land on the “please pass the bread” logo on the world challenge website. Here is another quote from David Wilkerson regarding “please pass the bread”  “This is a mission the Lord has entrusted into our hands. We must be faithful to execute it with the utmost care, as unto Christ himself.” — David Wilkerson

I am reminded of the conversation David Wilkerson had with a grandson. The grandson ask “why is there so much hunger and needs in the world, if God is so loving, then why.” David Wilkerson’s response was classic. (Please excuse my paraphrasing)  “I can’t answer that question but I’m going to try to help those that are needy. “

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment